Skip to content ↓

History of ODST

The Oxford Diocesan Schools Trust (ODST) was set up in July 2012 by the Oxford Diocesan Board of Education (ODBE) to provide an effective vehicle for schools in the Diocese of Oxford to come together in order to raise educational standards.

The Trust has experience of running small rural schools and large city schools, in both challenging and affluent communities, and is open to both church and community schools. We are keen to maintain a balance of different schools to enrich our ODST community.

The ODST journey


ODST was set up by the Oxford Diocesan Board of Education (ODBE) in response to the needs of The John Henry Newman Academy in Oxford.

It was quickly established that other schools in the Diocese would also need an academy sponsor and by 2014 ODST was a small MAT of 5 schools. 


Sponsorship of a school in Windsor, and the need to support it with other good and outstanding schools nearby in a ‘Hub’ format.

West Oxfordshire Hub also launched, which grew quickly to 8 schools judged good or outstanding by Ofsted.


Growth of three existing hubs: Oxford, West Oxon and Royal Borough of Windsor & Maidenhead (RBWM).


Further growth of existing hubs and a fourth hub in North Oxon


Three schools in South Oxon join ODST, creating a new fifth hub. One more joins the Northern hub, bringing the total number of schools in the ODST family to 32 primary, infant, junior or middle schools.

ODST future plans

Growth of ODST has been carefully managed to ensure sufficient capacity and capability is in the system at the right time to support new schools.  ODST has expanded steadily, working closely with the Regional Schools Commissioner’s office to ensure sustainable development. The Trust has a robust and well-considered growth strategy, including not to take more than three new schools per full term, to ensure effective growth is balanced with strong service delivery. This follows the Diocesan tradition of service to the community and is at the heart of our mission.